Allcric white logo

Shaheen Afridi Shines as Pakistan Triumphs Over Spirited Ireland in T20 World Cup

Shaheen Afridi Shines as Pakistan Triumphs Over Spirited Ireland in T20 World Cup

Your heart must have been pounding as Pakistan and Ireland clashed in their final group match of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup at Lauderhill. Both teams were determined to end their campaigns on a high note, and they certainly delivered a feisty display despite only pride being at stake.

A Festival of Fast Bowling

You would have been thrilled to witness the sheer quality of fast bowling from Pakistan. Shaheen Shah Afridi set the tone by removing both Andy Balbirnie and Lorcan Tucker in the first over, followed by Harry Tector in the third. Your excitement peaked when Mohammad Amir dismissed Ireland’s captain, Paul Stirling, leaving them teetering at 15/4.


Despite this early collapse, Ireland showed resilience. Gareth Delany scored a notable 31, while the tailenders, Josh Little (22 not out) and Ben White (5 not out), provided some much-needed resistance. The slower bowlers had their moments too, with Imad Wasim’s remarkable 3/8, including the key wicket of Delany, proving crucial.

Batters Make Heavy Weather of the Run-Chase

The tension must have been palpable as Pakistan began their response. Mohammad Rizwan and Saim Ayub gave a bright start but both fell for 17, with Ayub caught by Tucker off Adair and Rizwan caught by Adair off McCarthy. The middle order faltered as McCarthy struck again, removing Usman Khan and Shadab Khan in quick succession.


With the score at 52/2 from eight overs, Pakistan suddenly found themselves at 57/5, and then 62/6 when Abbas Afridi fell for 17. It was a nerve-wracking situation, but Babar Azam’s calm and unbeaten 32 steered the ship. And who could forget Shaheen Afridi’s final heroics? His quickfire 13 off just five deliveries secured the victory, making it a match to remember.

A Glimpse at the Scoreboard: Ireland vs Pakistan

Toss**: Pakistan won and elected to bowl

Ireland**: 106/9 in 20 overs

  – Gareth Delany: 31

  – Josh Little: 22 not out

  – Imad Wasim: ⅜

Pakistan**: 110/6 in 16.5 overs

  – Babar Azam: 32 not out

  – Shaheen Afridi: 13 not out

  – Barry McCarthy: 3/22



This match was a testament to the unpredictable nature of T20 cricket. From the stunning bowling spells to the nail-biting run chase, it had everything a cricket fan could ask for. While Pakistan celebrated their victory, Ireland left the field with their heads held high, having fought valiantly till the end. The spirited performances from both sides ensured that fans like you were treated to a thrilling spectacle.


यहां से डाउनलोड करें