Allcric white logo

Record prize money declared for T20 World Cup 2024 Cup

t20 trophy 2024

On Monday (June 3), the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced record prize money for the 2024 T20 World Cup, which is currently underway in the West Indies (WI) and the United States of America (USA).

Co-hosts the USA and Canada faced off in the tournament’s opening match on Saturday (June 1). Papua New Guinea lost to the West Indies in the first game on Caribbean soil on Sunday (June 2). This is the first major global cricket tournament to be held in the USA. It is the first time the West Indies have hosted both the Super 8 stage and the knockouts.

T20 World Cup 2024 Prize Money

In 2024, the T20 World Cup will have a total prize fund of $11.25 million USD (approximately Rs. 93.5 crore), the highest in the tournament’s history. All-time record prize money is guaranteed for the winning team at $2.45 million (around Rs. 20.36 crore). A losing finalist will earn $1.28 million (10.64 crores) while a semi-finalist will receive $787,500 (roughly 6.5 crores).


Those knocked out in the Super 8 will earn $382,500 each (approximately Rs. 2.34 crore), while those who fail to advance past the group stage will earn $225,000 (approximately Rs. 1.87 crore).


Each winning team will earn $31,154 (Rs. 25.8 lakhs).

T20 World Cup 2024 vs T20 World Cup 2022 Prize Money


T20 World Cup 2022

T20 World Cup 2024


$ 1,600,000 (Rs. 13 crore approx)

$2.45 million (Rs. 20.36 crore approx).

Runners- Up

$ 800,000 (Rs. 6.5 crore approx)

$1.28 million (10.64 crore approx)

Losing Semi finalist (Each Team)

$ 400,000 (Rs. 3.5 crore approx)

$787,500 (Rs. 6.5 crore approx)

Total Pot

$ 5,600,000 (Rs. 45.6 crore approx)

$11.25 million USD (Rs. 93.5 crore approx)


In 2024, the total prize pot of the tournament has nearly doubled. The governing body of the game is looking to expand the competition by having 20 countries participate in the ongoing tournament. Instead of the previous four editions, in which top-ranked teams had a direct bye to the Super 10 or 12, all teams begin their campaign in the first round this year. 🏏🔥